Thursday, July 11, 2019

Books from the Backlog #68


Books from the Backlog is a fun way to feature some of those neglected books sitting on your bookshelf unread.  If you are anything like me, you might be surprised by some of the unread books hiding in your stacks.

If you would like to join in, please feel free to enter your link and link back to this post, then spend some time visiting some of the other posts.  

This week's neglected book

The Crooked Heart of Mercy by Billie Livingston

Publication Date: March 8, 2016
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
From acclaimed Canadian novelist Billie Livingston comes this powerful U.S. debut that unfolds over a riveting dual narrative—an unforgettable story of ordinary lives rocked by hardship and scandal that follows in the tradition of Jennifer Haigh, A. Manette Ansay, and Jennifer Egan.

Ben wakes up in a hospital with a hole in his head he can't explain. What he can remember he’d rather forget. Like how he’d spend nights as a limo driver for the wealthy and debauched….how he and his wife, Maggie, drifted apart in the wake of an unspeakable tragedy…how his little brother, Cola, got in over his head with loan sharks circling.

Maggie is alone. Again. With bills to pay and Ben in a psych ward, she must return to work. But who would hire her in the state she’s in? And just as Maggie turns to her brother, Francis, the Internet explodes with video of his latest escapade. The headline? Drunk Priest Propositions Cops.

Francis is an unlikely priest with a drinking problem and little interest in celibacy. A third DUI, a looming court date.…When Maggie takes him in, he knows he may be down to his last chance. And his best shot at healing might lie in helping Maggie and Ben reconnect—against all odds.

Simmering with dark humor and piercing insights, The Crooked Heart of Mercy is a startling reminder that redemption can be found in the most unlikely of places.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12972591-swan-song

Why did I add The Crooked Heart of Mercy to my bookshelf?

I won a print ARC of this book from LibraryThing Early Reviewers....or in my case extremely late reviewers :)  I really have no excuses for not fitting this one in sometime over the past 3 plus years.  It is really short and it sounds rather interesting so hopefully, I can work it in soonish.

What are your thoughts? Have you read this book?  Would you recommend it to others?

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!
Click here to enter


13 comments:

  1. Hmm, I say no, leave it far underneath your pile

    ReplyDelete
  2. It certainly isn't my kind of thing but I can see why it interested you. The dark humour bit might lighten up the content too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. i'm not sure what i think of this, but i do like dark stories
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  4. well... if you can read it in a train ride, maybe?

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm curious about how the cover fits the story.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I agree that I am confused about the story compared to the cover. Interesting though!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I haven't read it but dang, it sure has a lot going on in it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. certainly looks interesting! I hope you get to it soon. :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow! This sounds like a crazy story but a good one!

    ReplyDelete
  10. This sounds too depressing for me right now or maybe ever. It does allow for character growth but I prefer more uplifting stories.

    Anne - Books of My Heart

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm not familiar with this book, but looks really interesting.

    Melanie @ Hot Listens & Books of My Heart

    ReplyDelete
  12. Sorry I haven't been doing any posts to link up. I hope to take care of things this week! I think this book sounds super interesting. It certainly isn't a storyline I've ever come across before. 👍✨

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...