Thursday, May 30, 2019

Books from the Backlog #62


Books from the Backlog is a fun way to feature some of those neglected books sitting on your bookshelf unread.  If you are anything like me, you might be surprised by some of the unread books hiding in your stacks.

If you would like to join in, please feel free to enter your link and link back to this post, then spend some time visiting some of the other posts.  

Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Friday, May 24, 2019

Audio Blog Tour - The Haunting of Hillwood Farm by Kathryn Knight


I am excited to share my review today as part of the blog tour for The Haunting of Hillwood Farm by Kathryn Knight.  Be sure to check out the tour here!

The Haunting of Hillwood Farm by Kathryn Knight
Narrated by Kristin James
Publisher: Kathryn Knight
Publication Date: April 15, 2019
Date Read: May 17, 2019
Length: 5 hours 18 minutes
Source: Author/Publisher for Blog Tour
★★★★☆
After tragedy strikes, Callie Sinclair is left with a gift she never wanted - the ability to communicate with ghosts. But when a desperate widow begs for her help, she reluctantly agrees to investigate the strange occurrences at Hillwood Farm. She quickly realizes she’s dealing with a dangerous presence beyond anything she’s ever experienced, and something else becomes equally clear - the only other living person in the house, Mrs. Turner’s handsome grandson, thinks she’s a scam artist. While she’d prefer to just ignore him, her heart beats a little faster every time he’s nearby.

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Books from the Backlog #61


Books from the Backlog is a fun way to feature some of those neglected books sitting on your bookshelf unread.  If you are anything like me, you might be surprised by some of the unread books hiding in your stacks.

If you would like to join in, please feel free to enter your link and link back to this post, then spend some time visiting some of the other posts.  

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Review - Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding
Narrated by Stephanie Racine
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books / Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Publication Date: April 30, 2019
Date Read: May 21, 2019
Length: 304 pages / 11 hours 51 minutes
Source: NetGalley / Purchased
★★★★☆
“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy's The Perfect Mother.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Review - The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren
Publisher: Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books
Publication Date: May 14, 2019
Date Read: May 19, 2019
Length: 432 pages
Source: NetGalley
★★★★☆
For two sworn enemies, anything can happen during the Hawaiian trip of a lifetime—maybe even love—in this romantic comedy from the New York Times bestselling authors of Roomies.

Olive Torres is used to being the unlucky twin: from inexplicable mishaps to a recent layoff, her life seems to be almost comically jinxed. By contrast, her sister Ami is an eternal champion . . . she even managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a slew of contests. Unfortunately for Olive, the only thing worse than constant bad luck is having to spend the wedding day with the best man (and her nemesis), Ethan Thomas.

Friday, May 17, 2019

Review - The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

The Bride Test by Helen Hoang
Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller
Series: The Kiss Quotient #2
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group / Dreamscape Media, LLC
Publication Date: May 7, 2019
Date Read: May 15, 2019
Length: 296 pages / 10 hours
Source: Edelweiss / Library
★★★★☆
From the critically acclaimed author of The Kiss Quotient comes a romantic novel about love that crosses international borders and all boundaries of the heart…

Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but not big, important emotions—like grief. And love. He thinks he’s defective. His family knows better—that his autism means he just processes emotions differently. When he steadfastly avoids relationships, his mother takes matters into her own hands and returns to Vietnam to find him the perfect bride.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Books from the Backlog #60


Books from the Backlog is a fun way to feature some of those neglected books sitting on your bookshelf unread.  If you are anything like me, you might be surprised by some of the unread books hiding in your stacks.

If you would like to join in, please feel free to enter your link and link back to this post, then spend some time visiting some of the other posts.  

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Review - The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine

The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine
Narrated by Susie Berneis
Publisher: Atria Books / Dreamscape Media LLC
Publication Date: June 3, 2014
Date Read: May 6, 2019
Length: 288 pages / 8 hours 44 minutes
Source: NetGalley / Library
★★★☆☆
From award-winning author Genevieve Valentine, a "gorgeous and bewitching" (Scott Westerfeld) reimagining of the fairytale of the Twelve Dancing Princesses as flappers during the Roaring Twenties in Manhattan.

Jo, the firstborn, "The General" to her eleven sisters, is the only thing the Hamilton girls have in place of a mother. She is the one who taught them how to dance, the one who gives the signal each night, as they slip out of the confines of their father’s townhouse to await the cabs that will take them to the speakeasy. Together they elude their distant and controlling father, until the day he decides to marry them all off.

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Audiobook Review - Him by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

Him by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy
Narrated by Teddy Hamilton & Jacob Morgan
Publisher: Audible Studios
Publication Date: March 8, 2016
Date Read: April 27, 2019
Length: 8 hours 4 minutes
Source: Purchased
★★★★☆
They don’t play for the same team. Or do they?

Jamie Canning has never been able to figure out how he lost his closest friend. Four years ago, his tattooed, wise-cracking, rule-breaking roommate cut him off without an explanation. So what if things got a little weird on the last night of hockey camp the summer they were eighteen? It was just a little drunken foolishness. Nobody died.

Monday, May 13, 2019

Review - Chosen by Benedict Jacka

This review originally appeared on Books of My Heart.  Be sure to check out the read-along for this series as well as some pretty awesome giveaways.

Chosen by Benedict Jacka
Narrated by Gildart Jackson
Series: Alex Verus #4
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Publication Date: February 17, 2014
Date Read: April 24, 2019
Length: 10 hours 24 minutes
Source: Purchased
★★★★☆
I don’t publicly advertise that I’m a mage, but I don’t exactly hide it either, and one of the odd things I’ve learnt over the years is just how much you can get away with if you’re blatant enough. Hide something behind smoke and mirrors and make people work to find it, and they’ll tear the place down looking for what’s there.

Friday, May 10, 2019

Audiobook Review - Alter by Jeremy Robinson

Alter by Jeremy Robinson
Narrated by Luke Daniels
Publisher: Breakneck Media
Publication Date: February 2, 2019
Date Read: May 2, 2019
Length: 9 hours 43 minutes
Source: Audiobook Boom
★★★★☆
Stranded in the Amazon rainforest, a lost man fights for survival and discovers that the root of evil doesn’t just reside in the world’s darkest corners, but inside the hearts of all mankind. Dr. Gregory Zekser is on a mission to visit the furthest reaches of the Amazon, providing medical aid to recently contacted tribes.

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Books from the Backlog #59


Books from the Backlog is a fun way to feature some of those neglected books sitting on your bookshelf unread.  If you are anything like me, you might be surprised by some of the unread books hiding in your stacks.

If you would like to join in, please feel free to enter your link and link back to this post, then spend some time visiting some of the other posts.  

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Audiobook Review - Marvels, Mochas, and Murder

Marvels, Mochas, and Murder by Christine Zane Thomas
Narrated by Jeffrey Kafer
Series: Comics and Coffee Case Files #1
Publisher: William Tyler Davis
Publication Date: April 15, 2019
Date Read: April 25, 2019
Length: 3 hours 20 minutes
Source: Audiobook Boom
★★★★☆
The only suspect to his best friend’s murder…

When Kirby Jackson’s friend Ryan is found dead in the comics and coffee shop the two co-own, Kirby quickly becomes suspect number one.

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Review - Top Secret by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy

Top Secret by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy
Publisher: Tuxbury Publishing LLC & Elle Kennedy Inc.
Publication Date: May 7, 2019
Date Read: May 4, 2019
Length: 319 pages
Source: Author/Publicist
★★★★☆
Bestselling authors Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy return with their first Male / Male romance in 3 years.

LobsterShorts, 21. Jock. Secretly a science geek. Hot AF.


LobsterShorts: So. Here goes. For her birthday, my girlfriend wants…a threesome.

Monday, May 6, 2019

Review - Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs @Mercys_Garage @AceRocBooks

Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #11
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group - Ace
Publication Date: May 7, 2019
Date Read: March 29, 2019
Length: 368 pages
Source: NetGalley
★★★★★
In this powerful entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling series, Mercy Thompson must face a deadly enemy to defend all she loves…

My name is Mercedes Athena Thompson Hauptman, and I am a car mechanic.

And a coyote shapeshifter.

And the mate of the Alpha of the Columbia Basin werewolf pack.

Friday, May 3, 2019

Review - A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World by C.A. Fletcher

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World by C.A. Fletcher
Publisher: Orbit Books
Publication Date: April 23, 2019
Date Read: April 29, 2019
Length: 384 pages
Source: NetGalley
★★★★☆
When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts.

My name's Griz. My childhood wasn't like yours. I've never had friends, and in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football.

Thursday, May 2, 2019

Books from the Backlog #58


Books from the Backlog is a fun way to feature some of those neglected books sitting on your bookshelf unread.  If you are anything like me, you might be surprised by some of the unread books hiding in your stacks.

If you would like to join in, please feel free to enter your link and link back to this post, then spend some time visiting some of the other posts.  

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...