Tuesday, June 12, 2018

New Releases - June 12, 2018 #newreleases #newbooks


It's Tuesday!  That means it is time to make a little bit of room on the bookshelves, load up your ereader, or make your way to your local library.  In other words - It is time to get your hands on a new book!

Here are just a few books that have just been released that you may want to grab soon:


The Real Michael Swann by Bryan Reardon
In a new novel from New York Times bestselling author Bryan Reardon, a suburban family is rocked in the wake of a terrorist attack on American soil.

On a typical late summer day, Julia Swann is on the phone with her husband, Michael, when the call abruptly goes dead. Then the news rolls in: A bomb has gone off at Penn Station, where Michael was waiting for a train home. New York City is in a state of chaos.

A frantic Julia races to the city to look for Michael, her panic interwoven with memories of meeting and falling in love with the husband she's now desperate to find. When someone finds a flier she's posted and tells her they may have seen her husband, her dreams seem to be answered. Yet as she tries to find him, her calls go unanswered.

Weaving between the aftermath of the explosion and Julia's memories of her life with Michael, new developments raise troubling questions. Did Michael survive the explosion? Why hasn't he contacted her? What was he doing when their last call was cut off? Was he—or is he still—the man she fell in love with?

Part family drama, part tragic love story, and part disaster narrative that hits terrifyingly close to home, The Real Michael Swann is a deftly plotted suspense novel with an unflinching portrait of a marriage at its heart, challenging us to confront the unthinkable--both in our country and in our own homes.


The Book of Essie by Meghan MacLean Weir

Find it at:
A debut novel of family, fame, and religion that tells the emotionally stirring, wildly captivating story of the seventeen-year-old daughter of an evangelical preacher, star of the family's hit reality show, and the secret pregnancy that threatens to blow their entire world apart.

Esther Ann Hicks--Essie--is the youngest child on Six for Hicks, a reality television phenomenon. She's grown up in the spotlight, both idolized and despised for her family's fire-and-brimstone brand of faith. When Essie's mother, Celia, discovers that Essie is pregnant, she arranges an emergency meeting with the show's producers: Do they sneak Essie out of the country for an abortion? Do they pass the child off as Celia's? Or do they try to arrange a marriage--and a ratings-blockbuster wedding? Meanwhile, Essie is quietly pairing herself up with Roarke Richards, a senior at her school with a secret of his own to protect. As the newly formed couple attempt to sell their fabricated love story to the media--through exclusive interviews with an infamously conservative reporter named Liberty Bell--Essie finds she has questions of her own: What was the real reason for her older sister leaving home? Who can she trust with the truth about her family? And how much is she willing to sacrifice to win her own freedom?

Ain't She a Peach by Molly Harper

Find it at:
Goodreads | Booklikes | LibraryThing
An Atlanta ex-cop comes to sleepy Lake Sackett, Georgia, seeking peace and quiet—but he hasn’t bargained on falling for Frankie, the cutest coroner he’s ever met.

Frankie McCready talks to dead people. Not like a ghost whisperer or anything—but it seems rude to embalm them and not at least say hello.

Fortunately, at the McCready Family Funeral Home & Bait Shop, Frankie’s eccentricities fit right in. Lake Sackett’s embalmer and county coroner, Frankie’s goth styling and passion for nerd culture mean she’s not your typical Southern girl, but the McCreadys are hardly your typical Southern family. Led by Great-Aunt Tootie, the gambling, boozing, dog-collecting matriarch of the family, everyone looks out for one another—which usually means getting up in everyone else’s business.

Maybe that’s why Frankie is so fascinated by new sheriff Eric Linden...a recent transplant from Atlanta, he sees a homicide in every hunting accident or boat crash, which seems a little paranoid for this sleepy tourist town. What’s he so worried about? And what kind of cop can get a job with the Atlanta PD but can’t stand to look at a dead body?

Frankie has other questions that need answering first—namely, who’s behind the recent break-in attempts at the funeral home, and how can she stop them? This one really does seem like a job for the sheriff—and as Frankie and Eric do their best Scooby-Doo impressions to catch their man, they get closer to spilling some secrets they thought were buried forever.

Harry's Trees by Jon Cohen

Find it at:
Goodreads | LibraryThing
The first thing you learn when you climb a tree is to hold on. Now it’s time for Harry to learn to let go…

Thirty-four-year-old Harry Crane, lifelong lover of trees, works as an analyst in a treeless US Forest Service office. When his wife dies in a freak accident, devastated, he makes his way to the remote woods of northeastern Pennsylvania’s Endless Mountains, intent on losing himself. But fate intervenes in the form of a fiercely determined young girl named Oriana. She, too, has lost someone—her father. And in the magical, willful world of her reckoning, Oriana believes that Harry is the key to finding her way back to him.

As Harry agrees to help the young girl, the unlikeliest of elements—a tree house, a Wolf, a small-town librarian and a book called The Grum’s Ledger—come together to create the biggest sensation ever to descend upon the Endless Mountains…a golden adventure that will fulfill Oriana’s wildest dreams and open the door to a new life for Harry.

"Harry’s Trees" is an uplifting tale about love, loss, friendship and redemption. Fans of Fredrik Backman’s "A Man Called Ove" and Gabrielle Zevin’s "The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry will find in its relentless good humor a much-needed remedy for these fraught times."
More Great Books Being Released Today
(Covers link to Goodreads)
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36462046-venom-in-the-veins?ac=1&from_search=truehttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36048592-breathless?ac=1&from_search=truehttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36373398-the-woman-in-the-woodshttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36342145-more-than-words?ac=1&from_search=true

Which new releases are you excited about this week?

24 comments:

  1. I would like to pick up a copy of Ain’t She a Peach!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do need to read more from Molly Harper!

      Delete
  2. The Book of Essie looks really good -- throwing reality tv into the mix just sounds so good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That one really caught my eye too, Verushka!

      Delete
  3. I got The Book of Essie from BOTM and I am excited for it. Thanks for sharing these!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't wait to see your thoughts once you have the chance to read it, Grace!

      Delete
  4. The Michael Swann one sounds kind of interesting...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I actually have a copy of that one, Chuckles!

      Delete
  5. Ain't She A Peach is going on my summer list! Looks perfect and sound fun.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have The Real Michael Swann from First to Read but haven't decided if I'm going to make time for it yet. Maybe.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am in the same boat. I do hope that I can work it in before my copy expires. Otherwise, it might be a library borrow in the future.

      Delete
  7. I want to try the Molly Harper one!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love that title- Ain't She A Peach! :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I have Harry's Trees on my TBR pile. It sound so good! One of those novels that is sure to make me feel good. I am not familiar with the other books you mention, but they sound good too! I want to know more about Michael Swann!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have heard great things about Harry's Trees.

      Delete
  10. Thanks for sharing! I love seeing what new books are out. I need to read more Molly Harper - I usually really enjoy her books.

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I need to read more of her work as well.

      Delete
  11. I've read some of the books in the Molly Harper series and need to grab Ain't She a Peach

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am so far behind with Harper's books. This new series does sound great.

      Delete
  12. I just read Ain't She a Peach and it was so fun! I hadn't seen The Real Michael Swann but now I think I need it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed Ain't She a Peah!

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...