Monday, March 20, 2017

Review - The Cutaway by Christina Kovac @christina_kovac @AtriaMysteryBus

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac
Atria Books - 37 Ink
Publication Date: March 21, 2017
Date Read: March 17, 2017
Source: NetGalley

The Newsroom meets Gone Girl.” —Cosmopolitan

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23014597-what-doesn-t-kill-her
My Review

I liked this story well enough even if I didn't love it.   I think that the newsroom setting was one of the strengths of this book and it did add a rather unique quality to the story.   Unfortunately, I was never completely hooked by the story.  The mystery was interesting but I just never found myself truly invested in the story.

This story is told from the point of view of TV new producer, Virginia.  When Virginia sees a missing poster for Evelyn, she knows that she has seen her face before.  She remembers Evelyn being in another piece on the news station as a cutaway shot and she is drawn to her story.  As Viriginia works to find out what happened to Evelyn, she soon realizes that the case may be much bigger than she originally thought.

This book actually had a whole lot going on.  Probably too much if I am being honest.  While Viriginia was working on this case, it seemed that her whole world was falling down around her.  There is a big shake-up at the news station that makes everything tense.  Virginia's personal life is also a major focus with past relationships, new relationships, and family making an appearance.  These topics were interesting but it seemed to change the focus from the mystery so often that I had a hard time keeping track of everything and I don't think that it always added a lot to the overall story.

The overall mystery was rather complex.  This book did take a lot of twists and turns that I didn't see coming but there was nothing that was truly unexpected.  I thought that the mystery did make sense in the end.  As the mystery really started to unfold, the excitement levels increased.  I did enjoy the newsroom perspective and thought this felt rather authentic.

This is a book that I am glad that I read and I think that mystery readers will enjoy the newsroom point of view.  I thought that this was a solid debut novel from Christina Kovac and I look forward to reading more from her in the future.

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Atria Books - 37 Ink via NetGalley.
About the Author

Christina Kovac worked for seventeen years managing Washington, DC newsrooms and producing crime and political stories in the District. Her career as television journalist began with Fox Five’s Ten O’Clock News, and after that, the ABC affiliate in Washington. For the last nine years, she worked at NBC News, where she worked for Tim Russert and provided news coverage for Meet the Press, the Today show, Nightly News, and others. Christina Kovac lives with her family outside of Washington, DC. The Cutaway is her first novel.

Author Links: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

10 comments:

  1. I don't think I knew about this one and in a whole it sounds ok

    ReplyDelete
  2. *groans* Another Gone Girl wannabe. Stopppppppp

    ReplyDelete
  3. This does sound really good - I love a missing persons case. However, I agree that it sounds like too much. The mystery itself sounds so big and complex that having all the upheaval in her personal life sounds a bit distracting. It does sound worth reading and I think it's one I'll enjoy! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm still not a big fan of mystery-esque books, but this one sounds alright. I'm glad you liked it.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I wish they'd stop with the "Gone Girl" comparisons already. It's actually turning me away from books at this point :(

    ReplyDelete
  6. The newsroom angle does pique my curiosity. I am sorry though this one ended up being a bit of a disappointment. Hopefully the author's next book will be better for you!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Hmmm ... I just got this in the mail, and this is the first review I've seen for it. Idk, I'll probably put it off for awhile.

    ReplyDelete
  8. A solid start is good, maybe she will get even better then

    ReplyDelete
  9. I think I would enjoy the newsroom setting/POV too. Sorry this one wasn't better!!

    ReplyDelete
  10. A news station is pretty unique! That's too bad it had so much going on and not in a totally good way.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...