Monday, August 24, 2015

Review - Crucible Zero by Devon Monk

Crucible Zero by Devon Monk
Series: House Immortal #3
Penguin Group - Roc
Publication Date: September 1, 2015
Date Read:  July 24, 2015

The national bestselling author of Infinity Bell returns to her “fresh and unique”* world where the truce between the ruling Houses has shattered and chaos now reigns. Only one woman has the power to save the world—but she could also destroy it...

Matilda Case never thought of herself as a hero. But because she is galvanized—and nearly immortal in her stitched, endlessly healing body—she doesn’t have much of a choice. Even if she doesn’t want to save the world, she’s the only one capable of traveling in time to do so.

But her rescue attempt hasn’t gone as planned. She’s stuck in an alternate universe, and her world is in danger of disappearing. Worst of all, an unfathomably powerful man who can also travel through history doesn’t want her to put things to rights. He’s willing to wage bloody war to stop Matilda, unless she surrenders control of time to him.

Now, with the minutes ticking, Matilda must make impossible decisions, knowing that one wrong choice will destroy her—and any chance of saving everything she loves...

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | BAM! 

I loved this book!  After reading the first two books in this series, I couldn't wait to read the next installment.  The second book left a bit of a cliffhanger so I was feeling an urgent need to see what was going to happen to Matilda.  This book picked up right where the last one left off.  This series really needs to be read in order and I would suggest that all new readers start with the first book in the series, House Immortal.

I had kind of expected this book to leave some kind of thread for the next book in the series and I was a little shocked when the ending felt very final.  I check the author's website and found this series is listed as a trilogy.  I shed a small tear when I realized that this will most likely be the third and final novel with this group of characters.  I then realized that I am actually okay with the fact that this is a trilogy because it is pretty fantastic as it is.  I won't have to worry about this series going downhill and I can read these three book again any time that I want.  

This book is set in a different timeway than the previous two books.  When Matilda tried to fix time in the previous story, she returned to an alternate time, which they call a timeway in this story.  Things are different in this timeway but many things are also strangely similar.  We do see the same cast of characters but they have lived a very different life.  I liked these characters but I really found myself wishing that someone besides Matilda remembered the way things were in the original timeway.

This is one of those stories that I didn't want to put down.  I found myself sneaking peeks at this book during the workday, in line at the bank, and really every waking moment that I had from the time I started the book until I had turned the last page.  I think that it is incredible that I found every book in this trilogy to be amazing hard to put down.  This book does so many things right.  It is a completely unique and interesting idea filled with wonderful characters.  There was a lot of action and just the right amount of emotions.  The chemistry between Matilda and Abraham continued to make the story interesting.  The pacing of the story was nearly perfect and I absolutely love this author's writing style.

I would highly recommend this series to all fans of Urban Fiction.  I am going to hold out a bit of hope that maybe things aren't quite done in this world because I would love to read more about it.  The three books in this trilogy are the only three books that I have read by Devon Monk but I definitely plan to work on some of her older titles and watch for any future works.  Bravo!

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin Group - Roc via NetGalley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

Book #1 - House Immortal - My Review
Book #2 - Infinity Bell - My Review
Book #3 - Crucible Zero
About the Author

Devon Monk writes the Allie Beckstrom urban fantasy series and the spinoff Broken Magic series. She also writes the Age of Steam steampunk series, the House Immortal series, and the occasional short story.  She has one husband, two sons, and lives in Oregon. When not writing, Devon is either drinking too much coffee or knitting silly things.

Author Links: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...