Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Blog Tour - Four Nights with the Duke by Eloisa James - Review & Giveaway!

Four Nights with the Duke
Desperate Duchesses # 8
By: Eloisa James
Releasing March 31st, 2015

As a young girl, Emilia Gwendolyn Carrington told the annoying future Duke of Pindar that she would marry any man in the world before him-so years later she is horrified to realize that she has nowhere else to turn.

Evander Septimus Brody has his own reasons for agreeing to Mia’s audacious proposal, but there’s one thing he won’t give his inconvenient wife: himself.

Instead, he offers Mia a devil’s bargain… he will spend four nights a year with her. Four nights, and nothing more. And those only when she begs for them.

Which Mia will never do.

Now Vander faces the most crucial challenge of his life: he must seduce his own wife in order to win her heart-and no matter what it takes, this is the one battle he can’t afford to lose.

Buy Links  Amazon | Barnes | iTunes | Kobo

My Review
4 Stars!
I had a lot of fun reading this book!  I have had Eloisa James on my radar for quite a while but somehow never have read one of her books.  I did read a novella length piece by this author several years ago and really liked the writing style.  I think I even bought a couple of her books that are patiently waiting for me to get to the chance to read them.  I wish I could tell you why I waited so long to finally read a full length novel from this prolific author but I honestly don’t have any kind of valid reasoning.  I can tell you that I sometimes will go long periods of time without reading any historical romances.  I like the genre but usually only pick one up when I need a break for another kind of book. 
This story opens when Mia and Vander are 15 years old.  The pair have a rather unusual connection – Vander’s mother had a long term affair with Mia’s father.  Vander has in his possession a love poem written by Mia about him.  They don’t see each other again for many years until Mia shows up at Vander’s home to propose marriage.  She makes sure that her offer is one that Vander cannot refuse and the pair are quickly married.  They each bring conditions to the marriage.  Vander will spend four nights per year with Mia if she begs for those nights.  He thinks that she is still infatuated with him after all those years and does not realize that Mia has no intention to ever beg for a single night.
I was a little worried when I started this book that I might be lost since it is listed as the eight book in the series but it reads just fine as a stand-alone novel.  I liked the characters a lot in this book.  Mia had a lot of love to give and was willing to sacrifice herself in order to protect those she loves.  She wasn’t the kind of character that waited for other people to come and save her or complain about a situation.  She took care of herself and worked to change situations that she didn’t like.  She only came to Vander for marriage when she saw no other choice.  Vander is equally likeable.  He is determined to make the most of his situation.  He is really a good man who knows that sometimes the best way to change a situation is to teach others to take control of their own lives.  I absolutely loved the secondary characters in this book, especially Vander’s uncle and Charlie.
I liked Mia and Vander as a couple even thought I initially wanted to smack them both for their thoughts and behaviors.  They eventually came around and I really liked the chemistry between them.  Since this is a romance novel, I knew going in that they would most likely fall for each other but I still enjoyed how everything played out.  There were a few other things going on in the story that kept me very interested.  The pacing was perfect and I just loved the dialog.  I will admit that I was not a fan of the pieces of Mia’s book that started out most of the chapters.  I didn’t feel like the inclusion of the notes and drafts of Mia’s book added much of anything to the story except to maybe show that she had the means to support herself financially if the need arose.  Other readers may enjoy those parts but I would have preferred for the novel to stay focused on the story.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical romance.  This was a wonderfully written novel that I think will appeal to a large audience.  I definitely plan to read more from Eloisa James very soon.
I received a copy of this book from Avon via Edelweiss for the purpose of providing an honest review.

Author Info

A New York Times bestselling author, Eloisa James is a professor of English literature who lives with her family in New York, but who can sometimes be found in Paris or Italy. (Her husband is an honest to goodness Italian knight!) Eloisa’s website offers short stories, extra chapters, and even a guide to shopping in Florence. Visit her at

Author Links Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Rafflecopter Giveaway (Print Bundle of the entire backlist of the Desperate Duchesses series, books 1 – 7, Including, Book 1: Desperate Duchesses; Book 2: An Affair Before Christmas; Book 3: Duchess By Night; Book 4: When the Duke Returns; Book 5: This Duchess of Mine; Book 6: A Duke of Her Own; Book 7: Three Weeks With Lady X)


  1. James is one of those authors I really need to read more of. I've only read a few of her books but I've really enjoyed the ones I read. I like the premise for this even though I can see where their behavior would get annoying at times. Great review!

    1. Thanks, Katherine! I need to read more from this author. This book was well done so I look forward to others. I feel the need to smack characters quite often in romance novels so that was really nothing new for me.

  2. Avon Books got great histroms, that's for sure. Speaking of which, in due for another one soon.

    1. They do publish a lot of wonderful historical romances. I just love reading this genre every once in a while.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...