Thursday, January 11, 2018

Review - The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 9, 2018
Date Read: December 9, 2017
Length:  352 pages
Source: NetGalley
★★★☆☆
"A jaw-dropping psychological thriller." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Fiendishly clever...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." –Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.
My Review

I was completely underwhelmed by this book.  I saw some really positive reviews for this book so I decided to read it myself because I love good books.  I wanted to love this book as much as other readers but it just wasn't meant to be.  I honestly don't see what all of the fuss is about.  There were a few twists but nothing that really blew me away or anything.  I am being really generous with my three star rating with this one.

This is one of those books that is going to be best to go in as blindly as possible.  The less you know about the book the better your chances of enjoying it.  As you can probably guess from the title, this book is about marriage.  We meet an ex-wife and a soon to be wife and get to know them a bit. 

Nothing about this book ever grabbed me.  I didn't feel much for any of the characters and I never felt that compulsion to keep turning pages so that I could find out what would happen next.  It was a book that I could set aside if I had something else to do but it wasn't painful to read either.  It was just kind of average.  There are some big twists in the book but I honestly didn't find them all that shocking.   By the time the first big twist is revealed, I just didn't really care all that much. 

I feel like this is a book that received more hype than it deserves.  Then again, there are some readers that absolutely love this book.  I won't be actively recommending this book to others but wouldn't discourage anyone from reading it either. 

I received an advanced reader edition of this book from St. Martin's Press via NetGalley.
About the Author

GREER HENDRICKS spent over two decades as an editor. Her writing has been published in The New York Times and Publishers Weekly. The Wife Between Us is her first novel.

SARAH PEKKANEN is the internationally and USA Today bestselling author of seven previous novels. A former investigative journalist and feature writer, her work has been published in The Washington Post, USA Today, and many others.

24 comments:

  1. Sorry to hear this one didn't really live up to the hype. I feel that way about Girl on the Train; I didn't think the big "reveal" was shocking at all, and it was just kind of a 'meh' book. Thanks for your honest thoughts though!!

    -lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't read Girl on the Train yet but hope I have better luck with it when I do.

      Delete
  2. Aw, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy this :( I'm one of those people who loved it, but I definitely understand why you didn't like it. It's hard to like a book when nothing really appeals to you. Great review! I hope your next read is better :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am glad that you had better luck with it, Lauren.

      Delete
  3. Oh that stinks! It sounded good but I hate when a book doesn't grab you. the twists don't surprise and you wind up just not caring. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really was disappointing for me because I was prepared to love it.

      Delete
  4. ah it looks complicated about this one. Too bad it wasn't more

    ReplyDelete
  5. I loved this one but I have offbeat taste sometimes. It's been getting some "meh" reviews so you are not alone :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am glad that you liked it. I just wish I had liked it as much as you did.

      Delete
  6. I will just read another one of hers

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A lot of people love it so it could work for you.

      Delete
  7. Sorry to hear that it didn't live up. I did enjoy it, but I can certainly see why you didn't connect with the characters. They could be a little off-putting at times.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am glad you enjoyed it, Jenea. It just felt really average to me.

      Delete
  8. It sure is disconcerting to not enjoy a book that seems to be everyone else's thing. I've seen mixed reviews on this one so I think it must be a book that isn't for everyone. The blurb has appeal for me, but I don't think I'll run out and grab it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have seen some other reviewers that weren't in love with it either. It seems like this one will either work for you or it won't.

      Delete
  9. Yikes, sorry this didn't work out for you. :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was okay but I was hoping for much better than okay.

      Delete
  10. I've seen so much hype for this one and I was leaning towards getting it, but I think I'll wait. There are a few thrillers I want to read more. Sorry this one was a bit disappointing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I just didn't think it lived up the hype but a lot of people do seem to love it.

      Delete
  11. I think I have this one on my TBR shelf. I am sorry it didn't not hold up to all the hype.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A lot of readers are loving it. I hope you enjoy it more than I did, Wendy!

      Delete
  12. Replies
    1. It sure didn't work for me as well as I had hoped it would.

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...