Friday, March 31, 2017

Review - Once Upon a Summer Night by Nancy Scanlon @NancyScanlon1 @DiversionBooks

Once Upon a Summer Night by Nancy Scanlon
Series: Mists of Fate #3
Publisher: Diversion Books
Publication Date: April 11, 2017
Date Read: March 26, 2017
Source: NetGalley

Time, worlds, and hearts collide in this mesmerizing time-travel romance, perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon.

Colin O’Rourke’s elite matchmaking service is taking off until Winifred Emsworth, Great Britain’s most influential gossip columnist, writes a scathing article about it. She’ll retract the column…if Colin can match her shy, bookish niece with a modern British aristocrat.

But that’s not Colin’s only problem. As one of the O’Rourke time-traveling Guardians, Colin’s destined for one woman only. His thinks he’s found her when she wanders into his cousin’s garden, but she leaves before he can get her name. If he doesn’t track her down again, he’ll never know true love.

Eleanor Carberry is happy with her life as a bookshop owner, and she knows she has her dear aunt Winifred to thank for it—especially as Winnie helped smooth over a very public breakup and a very personal loss. Her aunt has never expected anything in return, so when she asks Ellie to help vet an American matchmaking company, Ellie reluctantly agrees.

When Colin and Ellie meet, Colin realizes she’s the woman from the garden. He’s bound by contract to find her an Englishman, or he’ll lose the business he’s worked so hard to grow. Despite the distance he tries to keep between them, Fate has other plans when Ellie takes an unexpected trip back in time—once upon a summer night.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23014597-what-doesn-t-kill-her
My Review

This was a fun book.  I am kind of partial to time travel romances.  I guess I like the idea of imagining what it would be like to suddenly be thrust into an entirely unknown situation and trying to figure out what to do.  I was really in the mood to read a time travel romance so I decided to pick up this book and I am glad that I did.

This is the third book in the Mists of Fate series and it read just fine as a stand alone even though I think I would have liked it a bit more if I had been more familiar with some of the characters.  I definitely want to go back and read the first two books in this series so that I can see how things worked out for the other couples.

This book features Colin and Eleanor, or Ellie, and starts out in the modern time period.  Colin runs a matchmaking business, Celtic Connections, and Ellie's aunt wants Colin to personally find her a match.  Ellie and Colin have already met and the chemistry between them was intense right from the start.  I had a lot of fun watching this pair together.  Colin tried to suppress his feelings and Ellie went on the dates that were set up for her but they always seemed to come alive when they were with each other.

It did take this book a long time to get to any time traveling.  It was fun once it happened and a lot of exciting things occurred while they were in the past. This was definitely what I would call a sweet romance.  If you are looking for a romance with a lot of heat, this one may not be the right choice because kissing is about as steamy as this one will get.  I enjoy this kind of sweet romance that really makes you see the main characters get their happily ever after.

I would recommend this book to fans of time travel romance.  This was really a heartwarming romance that had a lot going for it.  This is the first book by Nancy Scanlon that I have read but I definitely hope to read more of her work in the near future.

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Diversion Books via NetGalley.

The Series - Mists of Fate
Book #1 - The Winter Laird
Book #2 - An Enchanted Spring
Book #3 - Once Upon a Summer Night
About the Author

Born and raised near Boston, MA, Nancy wrote her first romance novel at age 16, when she realized that fictional boyfriends were much easier to figure out than real ones. In the time since, she managed to earn her B.A. in English from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, obtain a graduate certificate in creative writing from the University of Cambridge, and marry the man of her dreams (but she still holds tight to her fictional boyfriends).

By day, Nancy is the principal technical writer for a software company, and she adores all things misty, caffeinated, chocolate and grammatically correct.

Currently, she resides in the metro New York City area with her husband, two small children, and two not-so-small dogs.

When not writing, Nancy spends her time reading, reviewing and blogging about romance novels, watching too much HGTV, and taking care of her family.

Author Links: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

5 comments:

  1. The Highlander series by Karen Marie Moning was the last time traveling romance series I've read. That was years ago now but I still remember loving each book. These books sound good. :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. Same with you I love time travel romances. It felt like being in two different worlds, full of wonder. Can this be read as standalone? Does each book in the series follow a different couple?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh I love time travel in books!! I will have to check this one out. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. oh I have had a fun time reading this series and this book was fun. She does lighter steam though, which is fine for me, because the romance element is the main plot. I think you would really enjoy the first two books.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...