Tuesday, June 14, 2016

New Releases - June 14, 2016 #newreleases #newbooks

June 14, 2016  

It's Tuesday!  That means it is time to make a little bit of room on the bookshelves, load up your ereader, or make your way to your local library.  In other words - It is time to get your hands on a new book!

Here are just a few books that have just been released that you may want to grab soon:
The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | BAM!

Collecting books can be a dangerous prospect in this fun, time-traveling, fantasy adventure from a spectacular debut author.
 
One thing any Librarian will tell you: the truth is much stranger than fiction...

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, a shadowy organization that collects important works of fiction from all of the different realities. Most recently, she and her enigmatic assistant Kai have been sent to an alternative London. Their mission: Retrieve a particularly dangerous book. The problem: By the time they arrive, it's already been stolen.

London's underground factions are prepared to fight to the death to find the tome before Irene and Kai do, a problem compounded by the fact that this world is chaos-infested—the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic to run rampant. To make matters worse, Kai is hiding something—secrets that could be just as volatile as the chaos-filled world itself.

Now Irene is caught in a puzzling web of deadly danger, conflicting clues, and sinister secret societies. And failure is not an option—because it isn’t just Irene’s reputation at stake, it’s the nature of reality itself...


League of Dragons by Naomi Novik
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23746004-black-eyed-susans
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | BAM!
The final adventure in the New York Times bestselling Temeraire series that started with the beloved His Majesty’s Dragon which has won fans of Napoleonic-era military history, Anne McCaffrey’s Pern novels, and Patrick O’Brian’s seafaring adventures.

The deadly campaign in Russia has cost both Napoleon and those allied against him. Napoleon has been denied his victory…but at a terrible price. Lawrence and the dragon Temeraire pursue the fleeing French army back west, but are demoralized when Napoleon makes it back to Paris unscathed. Worse, they soon learn that the French have stolen Termeraire and Iskierka’s egg. Now, it is do or die, as our heroes not only need to save Temeraire’s offspring but also to stop Napoleon for good!

Bay of Sighs by Nora Roberts
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25205422-who-do-you-love

The new Guardians Trilogy novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Stars of Fortune.

To celebrate the rise of their new queen, three goddesses of the moon created three stars, one of fire, one of ice, one of water. But then they fell from the sky, putting the fate of all worlds in danger. And now three women and three men join forces to pick up the pieces…

Mermaid Annika is from the sea, and it is there she must return after her quest to find the stars. New to this world, her purity and beauty are nothing less than breathtaking, along with her graceful athleticism, as her five new friends discovered when they retrieved the fire star.

Now, through space and time, traveler Sawyer King has brought the guardians to the island of Capri, where the water star is hidden. And as he watches Annika in her element, he finds himself drawn to her joyful spirit. But Sawyer knows that if he allows her into his heart, no compass could ever guide him back to solid ground...

And in the darkness, their enemy broods. She lost one star to the guardians, but there is still time for blood to be spilled—the mermaid’s in the water and the traveler’s on the land. For she has forged a dangerous new weapon. Something deadly and unpredictable. Something human.

The Girls by Emma Cline
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24502483-the-scamp?from_search=true&search_version=service
Girls—their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong—are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.
 
Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl’s life when everything can go horribly wrong.

Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction—and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.

More Great Books Being Released Today
(Covers link to Goodreads)
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27209487-sons-and-daughters-of-ease-and-plenty?ac=1&from_search=truehttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27209454-the-devils-of-cardona?ac=1&from_search=truehttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26089799-allegiance-of-honor?ac=1&from_search=truehttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29863612-signs-of-attraction?ac=1&from_search=true

6 comments:

  1. This is a terrible week for my TBR. I want Bay of Sighs, The Invisible Library (how could I not with that name?), The Girls, and the Novik books. They all look fantastic!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I seem to be able to find books to add to my TBR every week. I loved The Invisible Library and should have my review up later this week.

      Delete
  2. I promised myself not to stop by on these type of posts (because: temptation), but heck, who am I kidding? Sigh.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol....I am trying really hard to make good use of my library :)

      Delete
  3. Bays of Sighs should be a good one!! But I think the one I am most looking forward to is Allegience of Honor---Singh is one of my favorites to read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really want to read the Nora Roberts series. I have the first one so maybe I will start it soon.

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...