Tuesday, May 24, 2016

New Releases - May 24, 2016 #newreleases #newbooks

May 24, 2016  

It's Tuesday!  That means it is time to make a little bit of room on the bookshelves, load up your ereader, or make your way to your local library.  In other words - It is time to get your hands on a new book!

Here are just a few books that have just been released that you may want to grab soon:
The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | BAM!

In The Passage and The Twelve, Justin Cronin brilliantly imagined the fall of civilization and humanity's desperate fight to survive. Now all is quiet on the horizon—but does silence promise the nightmare's end or the second coming of unspeakable darkness? At last, this bestselling epic races to its breathtaking finale.

The world we knew is gone. What world will rise in its place?

The Twelve have been destroyed and the hundred-year reign of darkness that descended upon the world has ended. The survivors are stepping outside their walls, determined to build society anew—and daring to dream of a hopeful future.

But far from them, in a dead metropolis, he waits: Zero. The First. Father of the Twelve. The anguish that shattered his human life haunts him, and the hatred spawned by his transformation burns bright. His fury will be quenched only when he destroys Amy—humanity's only hope, the Girl from Nowhere who grew up to rise against him.

One last time light and dark will clash, and at last Amy and her friends will know their fate.

People Who Knew Me by Kim Hooper
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23746004-black-eyed-susans
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | BAM!

Everything was fine fourteen years after she left New York.

Until suddenly, one day, it wasn’t.

Emily Morris got her happily-ever-after earlier than most. Married at a young age to a man she loved passionately, she was building the life she always wanted. But when enormous stress threatened her marriage, Emily made some rash decisions. That’s when she fell in love with someone else. That’s when she got pregnant.

Resolved to tell her husband of the affair and to leave him for the father of her child, Emily’s plans are thwarted when the world is suddenly split open on 9/11. It’s amid terrible tragedy that she finds her freedom, as she leaves New York City to start a new life. It’s not easy, but Emily---now Connie Prynneforges a new happily-ever-after in California. But when a life-threatening diagnosis upends her life, she is forced to rethink her life for the good of her thirteen-year-old daughter.

A riveting debut in which a woman must confront her own past in order to secure the future of her daughter, Kim Hooper's People Who Knew Me asks: “What would you do?”

The Last Star by Rick Yancey
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25205422-who-do-you-love

The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

'Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times

We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.

Master storyteller Rick Yancey invokes triumph, loss, and unrelenting action as the fate of the planet is decided in the conclusion to this epic series.

Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24502483-the-scamp?from_search=true&search_version=service
San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong—until disaster strikes.

On April 18, an historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. With martial law in effect, she is forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Mercy can't sit by while they wait for the Army to bring help. Fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, yet Mercy still has the 'bossy' cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenaged girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city?

More Great Books Being Released Today
(Covers link to Goodreads)
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26198812-the-hunthttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23285687-a-clatter-of-jars?ac=1&from_search=true#https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26192646-sweetbitter?ac=1&from_search=true#https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26114644-the-children?ac=1&from_search=true

4 comments:

  1. I've seen such raves for The City of Mirrors that I had to add the trilogy to my tbr. I will have to check out Sweetbitter. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lots of great choices today! I'm super curious about Outrun the Moon. It sounds really interesting and wasn't on my radar at all before.

    ReplyDelete
  3. The City of Mirrors is really a hit. I still need to read the earlier books.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes!! Everyone must buy City of Mirrors, or the first two books. Outrun the Moon sounds promising.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...