Tuesday, February 23, 2016

New Releases - February 23, 2016 #newreleases #newbooks

February 23, 2016  

It's Tuesday!  That means it is time to make a little bit of room on the bookshelves, load up your ereader, or make your way to your local library.  In other words - It is time to get your hands on a new book!

Here are just a few books that have just been released that you may want to grab soon:
Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes


My Review

In the compulsively readable follow-up to her widely acclaimed debut novel, You, Caroline Kepnes weaves a tale that Booklist calls “the love child of Holden Caulfield and Patrick Bateman.”

Hidden Bodies marks the return of a voice that Stephen King described as original and hypnotic, and through the divisive and charmingly sociopathic character of Joe Goldberg, Kepnes satirizes and dissects our culture, blending suspense with scathing wit.

Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Now he’s heading west to Los Angeles, the city of second chances, determined to put his past behind him.

In Hollywood, Joe blends in effortlessly with the other young upstarts. He eats guac, works in a bookstore, and flirts with a journalist neighbor. But while others seem fixated on their own reflections, Joe can’t stop looking over his shoulder. The problem with hidden bodies is that they don’t always stay that way. They re-emerge, like dark thoughts, multiplying and threatening to destroy what Joe wants most: truelove. And when he finds it in a darkened room in Soho House, he’s more desperate than ever to keep his secrets buried. He doesn’t want to hurt his new girlfriend—he wants to be with her forever. But if she ever finds out what he’s done, he may not have a choice...

The Smell of Other People's Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23746004-black-eyed-susans
 
 
In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn't like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America's Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can't hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she's always known on her family's fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it's safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.



What Remains of Me by Alison Gaylin
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25205422-who-do-you-love
The USA Today bestselling author of the Brenna Spector series returns with her most ambitious book to date, a spellbinding novel of psychological suspense, set in the glamorous, wealthy world of Hollywood—a darkly imaginative and atmospheric tale of revenge and betrayal, presumed guilt and innocence lost, dirty secrets and family ties reminiscent of the bestsellers of Laura Lippman, Gillian Flynn, and Harlan Coben.

Nobody’s perfect. Everybody’s got a drawer somewhere with something hidden in it.

On June 28, 1980—the hottest night of the year—Kelly Michelle Lund shoots and kills Oscar-nominated director John McFadden at a party in his home. . . . And instantly becomes a media sensation, her chilling smile fodder for national nightmares. For years, speculation swirls over the enigmatic seventeen-year-old’s motives, information she’s refused to share. Convicted of the murder, she loses her youth and her freedom—but keeps her secrets to herself.

Thirty years later—and five years after her release from prison—the past has come back to haunt Kelly. Her father-in-law, movie legend Sterling Marshall, is found in a pool of blood in his home in the Hollywood Hills—dead from a shot to the head, just like his old friend John McFadden.

Once again, Kelly is suspected of the high profile murder. But this time, she’s got some unexpected allies who believe she’s innocent—of both killings—and want to help her clear her name. But is she?

Written with masterful precision and control, What Remains of Me brilliantly moves forward and back in time, playing out the murders side by side—interweaving subtle connections and peeling away layers of events to reveal the shocking truth.

She's Not There by Joy Fielding
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24502483-the-scamp?from_search=true&search_version=service

A novel of psychological suspense about a woman whose life takes a shocking turn when a young girl contacts her, claiming to be her daughter, kidnapped in Mexico years earlier, from the New York Times bestselling author of Someone is Watching.

A lifetime ago, every year Carole Shipley looked forward to her wedding anniversary. But then a celebratory trip to Mexico for the occasion with her husband and friends ended in the unsolved kidnapping of her infant daughter, Samantha. Now, fifteen years after that horrific time, divorced and isolated, Carole is forced to relive the kidnapping by reporters who call every year on the anniversary of Samantha’s disappearance. However, this year when the phone rings, Carole hears the sweet voice of a girl claiming to be her long-lost daughter. Plunged back into the world of heartbreak, suspicion and questions that led the case to run cold so many years ago, Carole doesn’t know what or who to believe. But when she starts to figure it out, she finds the answers dangerously close to home.

12 comments:

  1. I really enjoyed Hidden Bodies. I really want to read The Smell of Other People's Houses. Not only is the title great I have seen such positive things for it. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really liked both of those books a lot. The title of The Smell of Other People's Houses is one of the best that I have seen in a long time.

      Delete
  2. I’m looking forward to The Smell of Other People’s Houses. Unfortunately, I’m on a book-acquiring ban, so it’ll have to wait until my TBR pile is down to a reasonable size.

    Aj @ Read All The Things!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am supposed to be on a ban myself...but it isn't working out for me. I think that you would enjoy The Smell of Other People's Houses.

      Delete
  3. Great day for releases right? Hidden Bodies sounds so interesting.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really enjoyed Hidden Bodies. It is hard keeping up with all of these great books lately!

      Delete
  4. The Smell of Other People's Houses is one that I must have!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think that you would really like that one, Lekeisha. I was sucked into that story and loved the descriptions.

      Delete
  5. What a great release week! So many awesome looking reads!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love this time of year! There are so many great books coming out.

      Delete
  6. For me, it's ALWAYS time to grab another book for the ereader! Zombies here I come!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I always enjoy getting new books and I can't resist a good zombie story.

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...